Foster nominated for the Burlsworth Trophy



The trophy honors the most remarkable walk-on

University of South Carolina Security Jaylan foster is one of 88 players nominated for the 2021 Burlsworth Trophy, it was announced today.

In the 12th year of the award, the trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former offensive lineman and University of Arkansas All-America offensive lineman. Burlsworth’s life is also the subject of a big movie, “GREATER,” released in 2016. The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding American football player who started his career as an extra and showed performance exceptional on the spot. Each candidate must have started their first season of participation with an FBS (D1) football program without any financial support from their university’s sports department.

Foster, a 5-10, 195-pound Super Senior from Duncan, SC, began his career at Gardner-Webb, where he was named Big South Conference Freshman of the Year. He transferred to South Carolina in 2017, joining the football team as a substitute. He rose through the ranks from a member of the Boy Scout team to a special teams player, all the way to a place in the starting lineup. He currently leads the NCAA with five interceptions and ranks fourth in the SEC in tackles. He is one of 12 semi-finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which recognizes the best defensive back in this country, and has been selected by Sporting News for the 2021 mid-season.

“What a privilege it is to recognize these young men each year, those who have chosen to take on the challenge of starting their college careers as a substitute,” said Marty Burlsworth, President and CEO of the Burlsworth Trophy and older brother by Brandon. . “We are thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of these 88 players nominated for the 2021 Burlsworth Trophy. These amazing young men worked hard and earned this honor.

Without a D1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth joined the University of Arkansas in 1994. He became a three-year starter and was eventually named All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car crash 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was established in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, especially those with limited opportunities.

The Burlsworth Trophy Ceremony to honor the three finalists and announce the 2021 winner will take place on December 6 at 7 p.m. CST at the Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, Ark.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top