Leadership Institute for Principals Celebrates 10 Years, Announces Scholarship and Promotion of 22-Year-Old Graduates

Celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Leadership Institute for School Principals program, the Kentucky Chamber Foundation hosted a luncheon, hosted by Deirdre Lyons and Alltech Research Farm, to commemorate the success of the program, thank sponsors and contributors, and recognize principals who have completed the program. The event also included a graduation ceremony for the Leadership Institute Class of 2022.

During the event, participants heard from the following speakers:

• Deirdre Lyons – Co-Founder and Director of Corporate Image and Design at Alltech, Co-Chair of the Leadership Institute for School Principals

• Joe Craft – President, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Alliance Resource Partners, LP

• Rocky Adkins – Senior Advisor to the Governor of Kentucky

• Dave Adkisson – Former President and CEO of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

• Dr. Houston Barber, new assistant superintendent of Fayette County Public Schools, co-chair of the Leadership Institute for School Principals and program alumnus

Kentucky Chamber Foundation Senior Vice President Beth Davisson, Alltech Co-Founder and Director of Corporate Image and Design Deirdre Lyons, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Alliance Resource Partners, Joe Craft, Announce Deirdre Lyons Scholarship Fund.

Proceeds from the event will be dedicated to the new Deirdre Lyons Scholarship Fund, which will be used to support executive education for future participants in the Leadership Institute program. All funds raised during and after the event will be generously matched by Joe and Kelly Craft up to $50,000. To donate to this fund, please visit kychamber.wufoo.com.

“I am honored by the announcement of the scholarship fund,” said Deirdre Lyons. “Alltech became involved with the Principals’ Leadership Institute because we feel it is important to uplift our principals. In many ways, the principal is the CEO of his school. The training they receive enables them to better lead their students and have a greater impact on their communities.

The Kentucky Chamber Foundation’s Leadership Institute for School Principals offers principals of public and private schools in Kentucky the opportunity to receive powerful one-on-one leadership training through the Truist Leadership Institute. This one-year program, typically reserved for the nation’s top CEOs, is customized to meet the specific leadership development needs of school administrators.

Over the ten years of the program, the Kentucky Chamber Foundation’s Leadership Institute for School Principals has invested more than $3.5 million to train more than 500 elementary, middle, and high school principals, impacting more than 250,000 students and 104 Kentucky counties.
The Leadership Institute for Principals is offered free of charge to principals. This $17,500 training is made available to participants through an in-kind donation of $12,000 per director of the Truist Leadership Institute. The remaining $5,500 per principal is provided by matching donations from members of the Kentucky business community.

Below are the School Principals who graduated from the Leadership Institute for School Principals Class of 2022:

• Angela Sloan, Clinton County College, Clinton County
• Anastasia Quirk, DeSales High School, Jefferson County
• Angela Parsons, J. Graham Brown School, Jefferson County
• Anne Cox, Reidland Elementary School, McCracken County
• April Brooks, Johnson Traditional Middle School, Jefferson County
• Brandy Carver, Rowan County High School, Rowan County
• Carla Kolodey, Dann C. Byck Elementary School, Jefferson County
• Carolyn Smith, Farnsley Middle School, Jefferson County
• Cassie House, Peaks Mill Elementary School, Franklin County
• Charita Kimbrough, Maupin Elementary School, Jefferson County
• Diane Blankenship, Jamestown Elementary School, Russell County
• Hunter Gary, Morgantown Elementary School, Butler County
• Jennifer Jacobs, Rise STEM Academy for Girls, Fayette County
• Jenna Daulton, North Oldham Middle School, County Oldham
• Jeremy Kidd, South Laurel High School, Laurel County
• Joseph Norman, Warren Central High School, Warren County
Julie RubemeyerSouthgate Public School, Campbell County
• Kendra Glenn, Calvert City Elementary School, Marshall County
• Leslie Lancaster, Sinking Fork Elementary School, Christian County
• Matthew Jacobson, County Oldham College, County Oldham
• Matthew Knight, Walnut Hill Elementary School, Casey County
Matthew ChaferLarry A. Ryle High School, Boone County
• Nekita Johnson, Mercer County Elementary School, Mercer County
• Nicholas Eastham, North Henderson County College, Henderson County
• Philip West, Green County College, Green County
• Phillip Watts, Breathitt County Schools, Breathitt County
• Renikka Owens, Millbrooke Elementary School, Christian County
• Renisha Elam, Freedom Elementary School, Christian County
• Sara Greene, Shelby County Technology Center, Shelby County
• Sara Tucker, Taylor County High School, Taylor County
• Stéphanie Harmon, College of Paris, County of Bourbon
• Stephen Queen, Graves County Central Elementary School, Graves County
• Tiffany Austin, Paintsville High School, Johnson County
• Tony Jarvis, Murray High School, Calloway County
• Travis Marcum, Conkwright Elementary School, Clark County

For more information about the program or to become a donor and support a leader in your area, contact Jordan Deschamp-Young at [email protected]

Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

Back To Top