Liberty University accreditation reaffirmed for next 10 years »Liberty News

After a very rigorous examination, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), reaffirmed Liberty University’s full accreditation for the next 10 years. This accreditation affects almost all areas of the university.

Marshal Dr Ron Hawkins said the reporting process is extremely vigorous: “It is impossible to truly describe how complex this report is. It’s thousands of pages and appendices that look like the IRS code. We have been seriously engaged in this report for the past two years.

And pretty much everything relies on getting it right.

“It’s the Super Bowl,” Hawkins said. “The day before our meeting with the agency, I felt the butterflies start to rise in my stomach. I thought, ‘Oh my God. It really does happen. It’s for all the marbles! ‘”

Now Hawkins and the entire Liberty administration breathe a big sigh of relief, while celebrating the impressive results.

Jerry Falwell, president of Liberty, informed the campus of the continued accreditation during convocation on Wednesday. He called it a monumental achievement.

“I am so grateful for the hard work everyone has put into this project, from the faculty to the provost’s office,” said Falwell. “Having full SACS accreditation, no sanction, for the next 10 years, will allow us to fully focus on our very large projects for the future. It reaffirms that we are doing things right and that we meet the highest standards demanded of universities. “

Also at convocation, Kevin Corsini, vice-president of academic operations, told the students, “This news will benefit you, the university and every subsequent class for the next 10 years. We could not have gotten a better report from SACS. We got an A-plus. God really made this a priority in our lives and made it a successful business.

Liberty University was first accredited by SACSCOC in 1980. In 2009, Liberty received Level VI accreditation, the highest SACS classification reserved for colleges and universities that offer four or more doctoral degrees. SACS requires a more rigorous self-assessment report every 10 years. It includes responses to 96 standards. Schools are also required to complete a report every five years.

Learn more about Liberty’s Institutional accreditation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top