Sumter Club 2022 Music Scholarship Contest Winners Announced


The 2022 Music Scholarship Competition sponsored by the Woman’s Afternoon Music Club was held on April 30 at First Presbyterian Church. This year’s judge was Dr. Sonja Sepulveda, artistic director of Palmetto Voices and retired director of choral studies at Salem College. Barbara Rearden is club president and Joni Brown is scholarship president.

Three young musicians performed their audition selections at the May 13 music club meeting at the Church of the Holy Comforter. Each winner received an award certificate and a check for $500 to use towards furthering their musical endeavours.

The winners are:

Clifton Moise Instrumental Scholarship: Abbegale Bauer

Abbegale is a senior violinist at Sumter High School. Its conductor is Erik Hines. She performed Meditation by Jules Massenet and Violin Concerto in A minor by JS Bach.

Sheldon Timmerman Piano Scholarship: Lucy McIver

Lucy is a senior at Sumter High School. His piano teacher is Annette Matthews. She played Notturno by Edvard Grieg and Six Ecossaises by Ludwig Van Beethoven.

Elizabeth Book Vocal Scholarship: Carlos Waters Jr.

Carlos is a senior at Sumter High School. Her singing teacher is Caroline Mack and her choir director is Herbert Johnson. He sang Sento Nel Core by Alessandro Scarlatti and Steal Away, arranged by Hall Johnson. His accompanist was Kay Rasmussen.

Back To Top