William Henshaw Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution welcomes scholarship recipient | Newspaper

FALLING WATERS – At the December 4th meeting of the William Henshaw chapter of the DAR, scholarship recipient Julia Adams was welcomed as a guest of the chapter.

There were three applicants for the annual section sponsored scholarship program. Adams received a $ 500 scholarship to help him continue his education at the James Rumsey Technical Institute.

Accompanied by her instructor, Melissa Williams, Adams expressed her interest in a future in auto repair. She said she had always had an interest in auto repair work, an interest stimulated by her brother and in repair work on her own vehicle over the years. She relayed the fact that she saw this as a career path that would always have an established need in the future.

The Daughters of the American Revolution sponsor a number of exciting scholarships, with a portal open to accept applications on November 1 of each year. The following is only a sample of the opportunities open to interested students.

A merit scholarship is available in honor of Richard and Elizabeth Dean. It awards two scholarships in the amount of $ 5,000 each year for a period of up to four years to high school graduates. Recipients of this scholarship must be pursuing an undergraduate degree in American Studies at an accredited institution in the United States.

The Lillian and Arthur Dunn Scholarship is offered to sons and daughters of NSDAR members. The $ 2,500 scholarship is awarded for a maximum of four years to two qualified students. The mother’s DAR membership number must be included with the application.

For students interested in a career in nursing, the Madeline Picket (Halbert) Cogswell Nursing Fellowship is awarded to two students enrolled in an accredited school of nursing. Applicants must be members of the DAR, children or descendants of a member or eligible for membership. The amount of the scholarship is $ 2,500

The Dr. Aura-Lee A. and James Hobbs Pittenger Scholarship in American History is awarded to high school graduate students interested in an undergraduate degree with a minimum of 24 credit-hour concentrated study in American history and in the US government. As with all scholarship offers mentioned, the awarded student must maintain an approved GPA grade of 3.25 or higher.

For those interested in the medical field, there are two opportunities available to interested graduate students. The Dr. Francis Anthony Beneventi Medical Scholarship in the amount of $ 5,000 is awarded to a student attending or planning to attend an accredited and accredited medical school, college or university. The scholarship is not automatically renewable. However, candidates may reapply for the exam each year for a maximum of four consecutive years.

The Irene and Daisy MacGregor Memorial Scholarship is awarded to two students pursuing studies as a physician in an accredited and accredited medical school. A minimum GPA of 3.25 is required.

Back To Top